Posted in #DIGC202

Liquid Labour is Making Zombies

This week in the lecture, we’re discussing liquid Labour and the positives and negatives of the workforce becoming more virtual.

To be honest, I hadn’t realised until Travis pointed it out, but my current role as an admin is definitely an unpaid job that requires me to use a lot of the aspects discussed this week. So, after reading a few blogs, I decided to discuss the negatives and how they affect my life.

Since everything is online; there’s no way to escape your job or responsibilities after the regular working hours have ended.

I’m literally on my phone 24/7. I’m always checking messages, posts groups and completing tasks that really could wait. Sadly, my sleeping schedule is also very difficult. I sleep from 3am-9am usually, since this is the least active times for people in my group. What life?

If people who are actually getting paid to do this, are struggling like I am, then this is not a necessarily positive paradigm.

Personally, I think Liquid Labour will have a negative impact on the mental health of people who are already stressed enough during normal working hours. There are positive aspects, like accessibility and an ability to problem solve immediately but this also means due to a constant flow of information; no rest for the wicked and a significant decrease in sociability of people since they will not have a reason to stop working (unless their phone dies haha).

 

14030910_1064057430296874_1903505503_n

Author:

Student at the University of Wollongong making obligatory posts so that I can discover my professional voice and pass my course.

Leave a comment